iStock_sad_mother_child5556636S

God can save you and your household

I’ve observed during these difficult times that some believers are not certain whether they can stand on God’s promises concerning their children or family members.  Our children are living in trying times.  They are being pulled and tugged and enticed and lulled in the darkness.  The enemy has a parallel perspective for every truth established by God and without wisdom they are uncertain of the truth.

Nevertheless the bible promises to those that believe- we are to be assured -  as it is written:  Behold, I give unto you power to tread on serpents and scorpions, and over all the power of the enemy: and nothing shall by any means hurt you.  Luke 10:9  I quote this scripture often and include my family members in it because I am convinced that God watches over those that love him and trust him.

Yes God can and will deliver your children and your other family members.  He will save your household.  How do I know?  Scripture tells us.  There is a condition however.  The condition is “whether or not you can believe, stand on his word and not doubt.”  In the sixteenth chapter of Acts, Paul speaks of the jailor or the prison keeper who asked him and Silas “How can I be saved.” (Please note this man wanted to be saved).  This man had been awakened by an earthquake that shook the prison as a result of  Paul’s and Silas’ praise and song to the Lord while they were being held captive.  As a matter of fact, the book of Acts tell us the quake was strong enough rock the foundations of the prison to the point that the prison doors were opened and every one’s bands were loosed.  That’s just like the God I know who said that the word of the living God will make you free.  God will loose you from bondage.

The prison keeper thought to take his life for fear of the punishment that would come to him as a result of Paul and Silas being freed from prison.  However Paul told the man not to fear.  He then fell down before Paul and Silas and said “What must I do to be saved.”  You’ll notice in the sixteenth chapter of Acts, the man said what must I do, not what can I do to save me and my family.  But God is a merciful and gracious God who does abundantly above what you can ask or think.

Paul responded BELIEVE on the Lord Jesus Christ, and thou shalt be saved, and thy house.  Now some scholars may say, “Well Paul was talking to the jailor and that response was directed toward him.  Yes I agree.   Although the statement was directed at the jailor,  the statement Paul responded with was truth.  The same truth that he was speaking in the churches.  He said Believe on the Lord Jesus Christ and thou shalt be saved and thy household. (Because the man wanted salvation).   If you can conger up a belief, a faith that God will save your household, then God is a faithful, he responds to faith.  The book of Hebrews tells us it’s impossible to please him without faith.

There are of course more scriptures in the bible where God promises to keep, bless and protect from harm those that trust in him.  I felt led to drop this quick blog in the event that there is a reader, a servant of Christ who is struggling with whether or not God will watch over their children and their family members and keep them out of harms way, deliver them and save them.  God can save all who draw near to them.  Yes he will, he is faithful to his promises.

Amen,

Minister Mel

8 thoughts on “God can save you and your household”

  1. True, Psalm 91 he that dwells in the secret place of the most high shall abide under the shadow of the almighty and I will say of the Lord He is my Rock and my fortress, He is my deliverer in Him will I TRUST! This is an encouraging word. The good thing about being a Christian for A while is seeing God do it over and Over again. Thanks for the blog.
    David

    1. Hi Alfred,

      I am so sorry it took me so long to realize your comment. You can find me on my updated site: http://www.desirebydesignministries.org. However here are some scriptures to start regarding God saving your household. He loves those who trust and come to him and he will put a hedge of protection around you, your family and your posessions. Love in the Lord, Mel

      Acts 16:31
      They replied, “Believe in the Lord Jesus, and you will be saved–you and your household.”
      Acts 11:14
      He will bring you a message through which you and all your household will be saved.’
      Acts 2:39
      The promise is for you and your children and for all who are far off–for all whom the Lord our God will call.”

  2. Acts 16:31, keep reading. It says that all of his household believed and were baptized. So it does not say that his faith alone saved his family.
    Acts 11:14 just says that they will receive a message for themselves and their households telling what they must do to be saved.
    Acts 2:39 If this verse is saying that one man’s faith will save his whole family then it is also saying that one man’s faith can save everyone. So if this were true then only one person would have to have faith and the entire world would be saved. And we know this is not true because the Bible is very clear that “The highway to hell is broad, and its gate is wide for the many who choose that way. But the gateway to life is very narrow and the road is difficult, and only a few ever find it.” Matthew 7:13-14

    1. Thank you for telling me to “keep reading.” I love the Word of God, so I don’t read it out of obligation but out of sincere love daily – and Yes what you are saying is right, and I’d pray that with your knowledge you too are sharing the word of God with those that DON’T know him. I certainly am not conveying the message that because one family member believes then this person will be the ticket for every one else’s salvation – that certainly is not the way it reads to me. My message here is simply preaching the good news, to encourage. There are pastors, teachers, evangelists, apostles, prophets, we all have work to do and I believe that the harvest is plenty, but the laborers are few. I have faith that as believers of Christ, we are ministers of reconciliation – therefore we are not ashamed of the Gospel of Jesus Christ and we rejoice in the opportunity to share the word of God outside of our comfort zone (discussions with believers only) but are not afraid to witness to the lost. I believe that it is more profitable to win the lost. By this you’ll know that they are my disciples, if they show love one toward another. Abundant Peace, Blessings and Proverbs 3:5-6

  3. I too believe God taught me that this was His promise to us. Even if it is the last thought that enters our lost loved ones minds, I believe God will save them right there and then. And since God gave me that promise, I have had peace with the fact that my lost loved ones will be in heaven in the end of things.
    I know God has shown me that LOVE is the key to so many of His promises. And also in how we treat people. That when He shows us a need in someone that it is our job to fill that need. So many of us walk away from a need and end up buying that pair of shoes or purse. I believe as believers and followers of Jesus, that when choose to walk away and do nothing (save that money for your wants or your family’s wants) and we have more than enough, He holds us responsible for that person.
    We all cry out to God to show us our special job, and yet we pass up so many opportunities to show someone else His love. Our real job is to help each other through this life so we all may enter into heaven. His desire is for all of us to go to heaven.
    My bible says He died for us all. That He loves all so very much He gave His Son for ALL of us. We just need to act like it more openly for His glory.

    1. @ Glenda, Praise God. Jesus died for sinners of whom I was Chief but once we accept Jesus Christ as our Lord an Savior the bible tells us we are no longer under the law, but under grace. Sin no longer has dominion over us. However the Word of God also tells us that we are to work out our own salvation with fear and trembling – to fight the good fight of Faith (and it is a fight). There are many to reach, share the good news with, etc. The harvest is plenty, but the laborers are few. There is much work to be done. Jesus quoted from the Book of Deuteronomy when he said “I leave you 2 great commandments. One is to love the Lord your God with your whole heart mind and soul and the other is just like it – to love your neighbor as yourself.” Jesus also said, “How can you love God whom you cannot see, but hate your neighbor whom you can see? Anyone who saids they love God but hates their neighbor is a lier and the truth (holy spirit) is not in them.” The bottom is this, how we treat others is a direct reflection of how we feel about God.

  4. Wow…thank you for your reply. I can tell that you love God and truly have a desire to share the gospel of Jesus Christ. Good repy desirebydesign!

Leave a Reply

